Society for Calligraphy, Southern California

Event Calendar

Date & Time Event Contact Location Cost

Saturday, November 4

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Sunday, November 5

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

Non-SfC sponsored

Holiday Art Cards

with
Phawnda Moore

click for more info

Phawnda Moore

916-630-0505

Mendocino Art Center

Mendocino

Map of Location

TBA

Wednesday, November 15

10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Thursday, November 16

10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Workshop

SfC sponsored

Formal Italic of the Renaissance

with
Julian Waters

click for more info

Joan Bechtel

Download the flyer

MuzeO Museum & Cultural Arts Center

Carnegie Building, 241 South Anaheim Blvd, Anaheim (Classroom is in the basement)

Map of Location

$120.00

Saturday, November 18

9:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sunday, November 19

9:00 am - 4:00 pm

Workshop

SfC sponsored

Fraktur, Historical Sources and Modern Variations

with
Julian Waters

click for more info

Joan Bechtel

Download the flyer

Cal State University, Long Beach

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, Building HS&D, Room 105, Long Beach

Map of Location

$120.00

Saturday, November 18

6:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Social Event

SfC sponsored

Make-and-Take Event

click for more info

Kristi Darwick

Download the flyer

MuzeO Museum & Cultural Arts Center

241 South Anaheim Blvd, Anaheim

Map of Location

Free

Sunday, December 3

12:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Social Event

West Los Angeles Regional

Holiday Social Event

click for more info

RSVP

Download the flyer

Designing Letters Studio

4032 Marcasel Ave, Los Angeles

Map of Location

Free

Sunday, December 10

10:00 am - 1:00 pm

Social Event

San Fernando Valley Regional

Holiday Party and Lunch

click for more info

Jann Marks

Home of Carol Hicks

Free

Sunday, December 10

4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Social Event

San Gabriel Valley Regional

San Gabriel Regional Winter Social and Potluck

with
Nancy Campbell

click for more info

Nancy Campbell

818-500-7467

home of Nancy Campbell, Glendale

Free

Saturday, January 20

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Sunday, January 21

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

SfC sponsored

Beginning Copperplate

with
Suzanne Cunningham

click for more info

Rosana Ang

Download the flyer

Flintridge Retreat Center

236 West Mountain St, Suite 117, Pasadena

Map of Location

$120.00

Monday, January 22

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday, January 23

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

SfC sponsored

Modern Script Variations

with
Suzanne Cunningham

click for more info

Rosana Ang

Download the flyer

Flintridge Retreat Center

236 West Mountain St, Suite 117, Pasadena

Map of Location

$120.00

Saturday, January 27

1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Program

Inland Empire Regional

Lettering and Drawing in your Visual Journal

with
Kristi Darwick

click for more info

Angie Elliott

951-505-1888

Hobby Lobby

4625 Chino Hills Pkwy, Chino Hills

Map of Location

$5.00

Tuesday, January 30

10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Wednesday, January 31

10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Thursday, February 1

10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Friday, February 2

10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Saturday, February 3

10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sunday, February 4

10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Exhibit

SfC sponsored

Expression of Culture, East Meets West

click for more info

Jenny Allen

714-321-3163

Bowers Museum

2002 North Main Street, Santa Ana

Map of Location

TBA

Friday, February 16

10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Saturday, February 17

9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sunday, February 18

9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Monday, February 19

9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Conference

SfC sponsored

Letters California Style 2018

with
2018 Teaching Staff

click for more info

Virginia Dare

Kellogg West Conference Center, Pomona, CA

Cal Poly Pomona, 3801 West Temple, Pomona, CA

Map of Location

TBA

Wednesday, February 21

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Thursday, February 22

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

SfC sponsored

Retro Deco

with
Gemma Black

click for more info

Rosana Ang

Download the flyer

Barbara Close's Studio

3851 South Bear Street, B-15, Santa Ana

Map of Location

$124.00

Saturday, February 24

9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Outreach

Non-SfC sponsored

Copperplate - Small Letters

with
Kristi Darwick

click for more info

Kristi Dawick

Hobby Lobby

4625 Chino Hills Parkway, Chino Hills

Map of Location

$35.00

Saturday, March 3

9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Outreach

Non-SfC sponsored

Copperplate -- Capitals

with
Kristi Darwick

click for more info

Kristi Darwick

Hobby Lobby

4625 Chino Hills Parkway, Chino Hills

Map of Location

$35.00

Saturday, March 10

9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Outreach

Non-SfC sponsored

Copperplate -- Refining our Script

with
Kristi Darwick

click for more info

Kristi Darwick

Hobby Lobby

4625 Chino Hills Parkway, Chino Hills

Map of Location

$35.00

Monday, March 26

1:00 am - 11:59 pm

Other

other

Graceful Envelope Contest Deadline

with
Washington Calligraphers Guild

click for more info

Washington Calligraphers Guild

Download the flyer

Free

Saturday, April 21

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Sunday, April 22

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

SfC sponsored

The Adolf Bernd Inspired Decorated Letters

with
Peter Thornton

click for more info

Rosana Ang

Download the flyer

Cal State University, Long Beach

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, Building HS&D, Room 105, Long Beach

Map of Location

$120.00

Monday, April 23

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday, April 24

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

SfC sponsored

Inventive and Playful Built-Up Capitals

with
Peter Thornton

click for more info

Rosana Ang

Download the flyer

Flintridge Center, Suite 117

236 West Mountain Street, Pasadena

Map of Location

$120.00

Saturday, June 16

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Sunday, June 17

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

Inland Empire Regional

Nature Inspired Art and Text

with
Rebecca Wild

click for more info

Celeste Wong

Download the flyer

TBA

$120.00

Monday, June 18

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday, June 19

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

Inland Empire Regional

Layering Arts and Letters

with
Rebecca Wild

click for more info

Celeste Wong

Download the flyer

Cornerstone United Methodist Church

2050 North Valencia Ave, Placentia

Map of Location

$120.00

Saturday, September 15

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Sunday, September 16

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

Inland Empire Regional

Italian Hand: The Poetic Pen

with
Heather Victoria Held

click for more info

Rosana Ang

Download the flyer

TBD

$120.00

Monday, September 17

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday, September 18

9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Workshop

Inland Empire Regional

The Enchanted Letter

with
Heather Victoria Held

click for more info

Rosana Ang

Download the flyer

TBD

$120.00